APCChE President - Prof Guohua Chen (HKIE, Hong Kong)

Guohua completed his undergraduate degree in Chemical Engineering at Dalian University of technology and following this with his masters and PhD from McGill University in Quebec, Canada. 

Professor Chen is now head of department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. His research interests are: Waterborne coating development, Catalysis development for wastewater treatment, Freeze drying, Environmental electrochemical technologies and now focusing on Lithium ion batteries. 
Guohua is an editor on Separation and Purification Technology and a guest editor of a number of other journals. 
Professor Chen is chair of the next Asian Pacific Congress of Chemical Engineers organising committee in Hong Kong in 2017. 


APCChE Vice President
Prof Shuichi Yamamoto (SCEJ, Japan)


APCChE Past President - Russell Scott 

Russell Scott is currently Chairman of ThyssenKrupp Industrial Solutions (Australia) Pty Ltd, having recently stepped down as CEO of ThyssenKrupp Uhde’s global Oil & Gas Business Line. Prior to this appointment, Russell was Managing Director of Uhde Shedden Australia Pty Ltd, headquartered in Melbourne and Managing Director of Uhde Asia Pacific Pty Ltd, with responsibility for all the Uhde companies operating in the Asia Pacific region out of offices in Australia, Thailand, China and Mexico. 
Following the acquisition of a UK based upstream oil & gas engineering company in mid-2012, ThyssenKrupp Uhde Energy & Power Global Limited, Russell spent 18 months in London overseeing the integration of the company into the ThyssenKrupp Group. Russell is now based back in Melbourne but continues as Chairman of the company.
Russell holds a Bachelor of Engineering (Chemical) Degree from Monash University and is a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers Australia (EA), a Fellow of the Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) and a Fellow of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI). 
Russell was Chair of the Chemeca Conference in 2007, Chair of IChemE in Australia Board in 2008 and was elected international President of IChemE in May 2012 having served on Council as Vice-President International for several years. Russell is currently President of the Asian Pacific Confederation of Chemical Engineering (APCChE). 
In 2011, Russell was awarded the Fluor Award of Excellence in Chemical Engineering for exceptional achievement in Management and Leadership and in 2013 the Alumni of the year by Monash University’s Engineering Faculty.
Russell has over 40 years of experience in engineering and project delivery for the broad process manufacturing and resources development industries, with particular emphasis on general management, business development and the delivery of major capital works programmes.
Russell has travelled widely with business with a particular focus on the Asia Pacific region. Russell’s move to London expanded Russell’s business focus to include Europe, Africa and the Middle East.

APCChE Sub-Committee

Jon Prichard (IChemE, UK)

Jon joined IChemE as its Chief Executive on 30 January 2017.

In 2001, after 20 years in the British Army, Jon joined the staff of the Institution of Civil Engineers. He served initially as membership director and then as technical director. In 2007, he joined the construction consultancy High-Point Rendel as Resources Director and then in August 2010 took over as CEO of the Engineering Council.

Over the last six years he has successfully overseen the advancement of professional standards in the UK and the development of individual guidance in risk, security, and whistleblowing; whilst also ensuring that the reputation of registered engineers and technicians has been enhanced and maintained.

Jon is a Chartered Engineer, a Chartered Environmentalist and a Fellow of both the Institution of Civil Engineers and the Institution of Royal Engineers. 

Prof Woo-Sick Kim (KiChE, Korea)

Er Edwin Khew (IES, Singapore)